Carl Jung, Archetypes, and You

With the advent of New Age spirituality, the concept of archetypes has become increasingly popular. As people are now slowly subscribing to this notion that there is a blueprint of who you are, it certainly pays for us to discover more and unlock its meaning.

Given such, in this article, we’ll be exploring the archetypes of Carl Jung. By taking a sneak peek of what it means and how it is related to you, you’ll get a good grasp of this whole archetype craze! More importantly, the concept of archetypes will also lead you towards self-understanding, allowing for a more balanced approach on yourself.

Carl Jung, The Collective Unconscious and The Archetypes

Transitioning from the Freudian psychosexual theory of development, Jung points out how the human psyche is, in fact, interconnected. As a developing entity in itself, there resides the concept of the collective unconsciousAm I Damaged Goods, which paves the way for the notion of the archetypes.

With the collective unconscious, Jung theorizes that there exist blueprints that are present across cultures and societies. By recognizing universal symbols like the mandala, great mother, and wise old man, Jung points out that the human psyche is evolving on its own.

As such, understanding this area of the psyche means that we discover the archetypes. Like universal sets of responses, the archetypes serve as our main tool in understanding who we are in this journey called life.

By familiarizing yourself with the 12 archetypes, you’ll get a better grasp of who you are according to the set of responses and habits that you commonly manifest. Instead of battling it out, understanding such tendencies helps you resolve inner conflicts.

The 12 Archetypes

In general, there are 12 archetypes that are based on the Jungian approach. While more primordial archetypes such as the Anima/Animus or the Shadow, these 12 archetypes are the most common and constructive ones that we can easily resonate with. As such, we’ll be lining them up so as to give you a good idea of what they mean.

  1. Caregiver – prioritizing the good of others, the caregiver won’t hesitate to help those around them. Seeing such as an ultimate good, they seek nothing but being a neighbor to all. Thus, this makes them prone to abuse as people take advantage of their kindness.
  2. Creator – seeking originality and perfection, the creator can be relentless in their passion or art. As they seek to leave a creation in this world, they will stop at nothing to achieve such. Thus, they can also be victims of their own desire as they end up finishing nothing at all.
  3. Explorer – born to unravel the mysteries of the world, the explorer, will devote his/her entire life in a journey. Like navigators, they find it meaningful to unravel places on their own. As such, they can be carefree and unstable with regard to their overall decisions in life.
  4. Hero – destined towards challenges and struggles, the Hero must be able to conquer his/her demons. By doing so, he/she will gain the power to protect the people. However, such can lead to fame and fortune, so the Hero can end-up being self-serving if left unchecked.
  5. Innocent – with their untainted viewpoint, the innocent seek utopia. As such, they are good at bringing hope to others on the bleakest of moments. However, they can also be very naïve and idealistic because of such.
  6. Jester – Able to see the paradox of life, the jester seeks to create fun out of it. Instead of lamenting on such, they will create jokes that will bring life to the dullness of the universe. But are they doing it for its own sake? Or are they simply avoiding their own depression?
  7. Lover – Prioritizing meaningful relationships, the lover will give his/her best effort to become the best version of himself/herself. As such, they will be appealing and seductive in every way possible. But are they really seeking to create that relationship?
  8. Magician – harnessing the mystical powers of the universe, the magician can turn water into wine. As such, they are often sought when nothing else works. However, they can also disappear when you need them the most.
  9. Member – Devoting themselves to a cause, the member will happily give his/her time, talent, and treasures for a cause that he/she believes in. As such, they are the best teammates that you’ll ever get! However, they can also be lured for the wrong causes.
  10. Outlaw – Able to see the faults of the system, the outlaw will seek to change it. Whereas no one would dare to correct such, they are the much-needed spark towards progress. But are they using the right methods?
  11. Ruler – Born and destined towards power, the ruler seeks to govern others. As such, they have grand schemes which they hope will improve the lives of those around them. However, their desire for power can also consume them.
  12. Sage – as the ultimate lover of wisdom, the sage will stop at nothing to know more about the world. Thus, this makes them beacons of knowledge, granting wisdom to the world itself. However, they can be disconnected as they reside loftily on their ivory towers.

By having a general idea of the archetypes and how you can be related to them, you can get a good grasp of who you are and your purpose in this world. As such, keep in mind that all of these archetypes are present in you. Instead of viewing them as definite, try to see them as dominant. Meaning, the infiniteness of possibilities is still present despite the structure that it gives to your personality.


The author of this blog is a regular contributor to a personality-identifying website that explores Carl Jung’s study of the 12 archetypes.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *